Veg Empanadas Recipe

Making a new recipe is becoming habit lately. 😉  I am trying to eat healthy, as long I end up making healthy recipe is good for family. I tried making Veg Empanadas for the first time. I had twist to an original recipe according to what was available in my pantry. I made lettuce wrap and wanted some protein to go as Main course.

What you need below for the recipe:

Ingredients: 1 cup black bean, 1 cup finely chopped green bell pepper, 1 cup finely chopped tomatoes, 1/2 cup cilantro, 1 cup finely chopped onions, 1 cup corn kernels, 2 tbsp Hot taco seasoning, 2 tbsp finely chopped jalapeno, 3 tbsp salsa sauce, salt, pepper, basil, oregano per taste, shredded cheese(optional, I did not add), puff pastry sheets.

  1. Cut the puff pastry sheet in the shape you like to make Empanadas. I just went with traditional triangle shape. Roll it to make it little bigger.
  2. Mix well all the ingredients except for the pastry sheets. Stuff the mixture in pastry sheet cutouts and seal the edges.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes on 375 F by turning the Empanadas half way.
  4. And its ready to enjoy. I always make mexican salad cum salsa to eat with this.
  5. For mexican salad, take 1 cup finely chopped fresh avocados, 1/2 cup cilantro, 1 tbsp finely chopped Jalapenos, 1 tbsp lime juice/orange juice fresh, salt and pepper per taste, 1/2 cup finely chopped tomatoes, 1/2 cup finely chopped onions.  I prepare this before prepping for Empanadas to let it sit and mix well. My hubby loves this salad to eat with chips or Empanadas as Chutney/ Salsa substitute.

Photos to be updated soon, thank you for visiting here. I hope your family likes the recipe.

Leave a Reply

